Flowers in February

Today was another chilly day in Wisconsin.  After surviving another snowstorm and another cold day I needed a piece of spring.  So between clients I decided to stop in a local flower shop.  There is nothing like walking into a flower shop and the scent of fresh flowers hitting you.  The sweet smell and freshness in the air instantly brings me to thoughts of spring and summer.  So I studied the flower case and saw some beautiful Asiatic Lilies and Gerbera Daisies so I picked some out.  The bright colors instantly warmed my spirit and made me feel content.  I picked out some greens to go with and the florist wrapped them up in beautiful bright orange and red paper and tied a bow on the wrap.  I would have to say that is one of the reasons I love going to flower shops, on the few occasions I indulge in buying some flowers, I walk out with a beautifully wrapped gift and what is inside the wrapping is just as beautiful.  So I brought them to my car and then headed to my last client of the day.  I was excited I had something special to look forward to after a long snowy and cold day. When I arrived home I gently unwrapped the flowers and placed them in the vase which had been a wedding present from my brother.  The bright colors and sweet smell put a smile on my face.  One major thing about my personality is that I enjoy the simple pleasures of little things, it can make my day seem much brighter in an instant.  Now that I have my flowers to enjoy, and tonight is a night that I only have to make something for myself to eat, I decided to make a simple, but yummy and healthy, dinner of wild rice cooked with chicken broth, chicken breast, with just a little bit of Gorgonzola Cheese and mushrooms, and sauteed carrots.  Then after dinner savoring a glass of my favorite wine as I enjoy looking at the beauty of the flowers that are now are releasing the sweet smell of spring into my home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

